1823: Mendelssohn: Piano Quartet No. 2 in F minor, age 14

Fauré Quartett

  1. Allegro molto (F minor)
  2. Adagio (Db major)
  3. Intermezzo: Allegro moderato (F minor)
  4. Finale: Allegro molto vivace (F minor)


  • for piano,
  • violin,
  • viola and
  • cello

It was completed on 3 December 1823 and published two years later. The work was dedicated to Mendelssohn’s teacher, Carl Friedrich Zelter. Mendelssohn’s three numbered piano quartets were the first works of his to be published


Leave a Reply