1823: Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 10 in B Minor, age 14

Mr. Peabody Says:

Mendelssohn wrote this in May, so he had recently turned age 14. There are two violas, so five parts instead of four.This 11th symphony is in B minor and is around 10 minutes long. There are only three movements, and they all flow into each other in continuous music, so this very different.

Lev Markiz/Nieuw Sinfonietta Amsterdam

  1. Adagio
  2. Allegro
  3. Piu presto

This is good for sound.

Nicholas Ward/Northern Chamber Orchestra

Use this to see the score.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top