1776: Haydn: Symphony No. 61 in D major (CUCKOO), age 42

Nickname, and start here:

There is none, but I’m giving it “cuckoo” because at the end of each phrase of the last movement there is cuckoo sound, or something catchy like that. When I heard this I could not stop laughing. Another commentator called this “chirping”. Whatever it is, it’s funny.

Finale: Prestissimo

Adam Fischer:


  • flute,
  • two oboes
  • two bassoons
  • two horns
  • timpani
  • strings


The autograph has survived and is dated, so for this symphony we know exactly when it was composed.

Leave a Reply