1861: Symphony No. 8 (EVENING) in C major, age 29

TUESDAY, November 10, 2020 – 10:20 AM

Symphony No. 8 (EVENING) in C major, age 29

This is an early symphony written in 1761 by Joseph Haydn and the 3rd written after Haydn had joined the Esterházy court. It is the 3rd of three that are characterized by unusual virtuoso writing across the orchestral ensemble. It is popularly known as “Le soir”, “Evening”.

It is part of a trio of symphonies called “Day Trilogy”, Nos. 6-8, written for Prince Paul II Anton Esterházy.


  • solo violoncello
  • two solo violins,
  • solo violone
  • two oboes, one flute, bassoon
  • two horns
  • strings

Andrea Dindo






Leave a Reply