1841: Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2 (LOBESGESANG) in B-flat major

SUNDAY, November 15, 2020 – 12:28 PM

Symphony No. 2 (LOBESGESANG) in B-flat major, age 32

The number of Mendelssohn’s symphonies are highly inaccurate. It appears that 17 years passed between his 1st and 2nd symphonies, but in fact he never called this a symphony, and he did not number it. I don’t really know quite what this is, but the title just means “Song of Praise”. So it is religious in nature, and it’s long. Since I want complete versions of all symphonies by all major composers, I want to complete this cycle, but I have not yet made up my mind about what I think of this music. There are 13 parts or sections, and I don’t even know if it is accurate to call them “movements”. The first three are instrumental, while the last 10 are choral or featuring the vocal soloists.


  • two sopranos, tenor
  • chorus
  • two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons
  • four horns, two trumpets, three trombones
  • timpani
  • organ
  • strings

Andrés Orozco-Estrada

  1. Maestoso con moto – Allegro
  2. Allegretto un poco agitato
  3. Adagio religioso
  4. All men, all things, all that have life and breath (Chorus)
  5. Praise thou the Lord, O ye Spirit (Soprano Solo and Semi-Chorus)[n 1]
  6. Sing ye Praise (Tenor Recitative and Aria)
  7. All ye that cried unto the Lord (Chorus)
  8. I waited for the Lord (Soprano Duet and Chorus)
  9. The sorrows of Death (Tenor Aria)
  10. The Night is Departing (Chorus)
  11. Let all men praise the Lord (Chorale of Now Thank We All Our God)
  12. My song shall be always Thy Mercy (Soprano and Tenor Duet)
  13. Ye nations, offer to the Lord (Chorus)


1 thought on “1841: Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2 (LOBESGESANG) in B-flat major

Leave a Reply